HomeAbout UsReform InitiativesResourcesArchivesContact Us



2015 Education Committee

  • Carol McCall, Chair
  • Florence Andre
  • Judy Andry
  • Adrienne Altman
  • Janet Bean
  • Kia Brown
  • Nash Crews
  • Joan Coulter
  • Bonnie Conway
  • Susie DeRussy
  • Carla Fishman
  • Betsy Fowler
  • Sara Gaines
  • Katherine Gelderman
  • Susan Johnson
  • Shelley Kurtz
  • Mary Looney
  • Diana Lewis
  • Barbara MacPhee
  • John Martin
  • Judi Minter
  • Jane Mize
  • Suzanne Phelps
  • Cathy Pierson
  • Murray Pitts
  • Macon Riddle
  • Kathy Riedlinger
  • Isabel Sanders
  • Lisa Schlackman

The Education Committee of Citizens for 1 Greater New Orleans is committed to improving public education in Orleans Parish, the Greater New Orleans area and in the state of Louisiana.  We support the reforms that have increased school performance scores in Orleans Parish since the state take-over of the failing schools in 2005 after Hurricane Katrina.

Our goal is to be effective advocates for excellence in public education.  To further this goal, the Committee meets at least twice a month in the fall and early spring to hear from local and state leaders in public education and to study, discuss, and formulate positions in areas of interest and concern.  As a 100% volunteer organization, the Education Committee relies on research and information from organizations such as Educate Now!, the Cowen Institute, the BGR, the LAPCS, PAR, NSNO, the Eastbank Collaborative, the Partnership for Youth Development, and the RSD.  The Committee also attends meetings of the Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB), the Orleans Parish Facilities Master Plan, and the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE).