HomeAbout UsReform InitiativesResourcesArchivesContact Us






March 27, 2009

Citizens for 1 Greater New Orleans, a grass roots citizens’ activist group based primarily in New Orleans, and its Criminal Justice Reform Committee was honored with the  Outstanding Leader in Citizen Participation award given by the Juvenile Justice Project of Louisiana.  JJPL, founded ten years ago, advocates reform in the juvenile justice system by sponsoring legislation for prison and court reform, along with education initiatives that seek to adapt adult based practices to more appropriate and meaningful ones for young people.

Shown at the Juvenile Justice Project of Louisiana (JJPL) Annual Gala, held March 27 at the Fine Arts Center, are left to right Dana Kaplan, JJPL Director; Kyron George, Junior Youth Organizer for JJPL; Zully Jimenez, Linda Roussel and Brenda Fenner, all representatives of the Criminal Justice Reform Committee of Citizens for 1 Greater New Orleans

The award was presented On Thursday, March 26, 2009 at the JJPL annual Gala. Zully Jimenez, Ann Rabin and Linda Roussel will accept the award on behalf of the Criminal Justice Reform Committee of the Citizens for 1 Greater New Orleans organization.    

“We are so proud of these members of Citizens,” commented Ruthie Frierson, Chairman of the group founded shortly after Hurricane Katrina.  “They have met weekly since May 2006 with their focus primarily on juvenile justice reform.  They serve on many boards to that end and attend city council meetings.  The advocacy efforts by members of this committee, working with public and non-profit groups, has focused public attention on the very critical needs of juveniles in our community.  We are so happy that their creative, humane approach is being recognized. ”

“Citizens for 1 has been a tremendous asset in work for juvenile justice reform in New Orleans,” said Dana Kaplan, Director of JJPL.

Other awards and recipients were: Youth Plaintiffs for Youth Study Center (YSC), Outstanding Youth Leader award; Gina Womack, Outstanding Leader in Community Advocacy award; the Holland & Knight team of Stephen Hanlon, Sharon Eubanks and LaKeytria Felder, Outstanding Leader in Corporate Support; James Rucker, Outstanding Leader in Fundraising Support; Sandy Davis of The Advocate, Outstanding Leader in Media; and former state senator Donald Cravins, Jr. Outstanding Leader in Government.




September 2006